Thursday Doors: Chania on the Island of Crete

This is my contribution to the weekly Thursday Doors challenge hosted by Dan Antion over at No Facilities blog.

~~

In January, my husband and I traveled to Chania on the westernmost side of the Island of Crete in Greece for a one month visit.  For the next several weeks, I’ll be featuring doors and other treasures we discovered there. 

To start off, on the first day in Chania, we strolled along the Old Sea Wall.  The stone wall was built between the Venetian Harbor and the Mediterranean Sea to protect the harbor from the northern waves and pirates.

Across the harbor, past the Chania Marina, the White Mountains in the distance looked magical.  The crystal-clear waters and the architecture of the buildings beside the harbor were incredible.

We continued along the wall until we reached the Egyptian Lighthouse at the end.  The stone lighthouse is known as “the guard” of the harbor.  It was built in the late 16th century and is among the oldest lighthouses in the world.

I hope you enjoyed my first instalment from Crete.  More to come next week!

For more doors from all around the globe, visit Dan’s.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Sheree says:

    Interesting selection, thank you

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, Sheree! :) 

      Liked by 1 person

  2. restlessjo says:

    It’s a lovely place, isn’t it? Another one I have fond memories of. Lovely photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Jo! It’s a beautiful place and the people are incredibly friendly. I’m so glad to remind you of fond memories. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Wonderful photos, Brenda! I love lighthouses so that one is clearly my favorite, but the area is so beautiful. I think I’d have needed a new memory card if I was there with my camera.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry for not responding until now, Dan. It’s been one of “those” weeks. Lighthouses are on the top of my list as well! It was a little bit cold but that doesn’t matter when there’s so much beauty. You would certainly need another memory card (haha). Maybe some day you can visit. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ann Coleman says:

    How beautiful! Especially the door in the stones to the sea…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you like the door to the sea. That’s my favorite as well. It’s one of those photos you take and then look at it later and are surprised how well it came out. :) Thank you, Ann, for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment