Thursday Doors: Sunset in Agios Theodoros, Paphos

Here is my contribution to the weekly Thursday Doors challenge hosted by Dan Antion over at No Facilities blog.

~~

For the third week, I’m featuring Paphos, in the south part of Cyprus, from a trip my husband and I took in March.  My favorite neighborhood in Paphos was Agios Theodoros.  My door post last week showed a few treasures I found in this neighborhood.  This week includes doors I discovered on a sunset walk through the neighborhood. 

Here is the Cathedral of Saint Theodoros.  The village of Agios Theodoros was named after St. Theodoros the Commander. 

The sun set behind “The Girl with Sparrow” bronze statue, created by a local artist and sculptor, Yiota Ioannidou.

Thank you for stopping by!  If you would like to see my previous posts from Cyprus, click “Paphos in Cyprus (Monuments)” or “Paphos (Agio Theodoros).”

For more doors from all around the globe, visit Dan’s.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. wanderlustig says:

    Wonderful doors and light. We visited the town and the church but in the morning not at sunset. Thank you for showing. The sunsets at the coast in Paphos were really spectacular.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I agree, the sunsets in Paphos were amazing. I enjoyed the walks along the coast especially. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. All beautiful photos, Brenda. I like the one with the door with the butter. What a fantastic image of the sun set behind that sculpture and tree…so awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks much, Suzette! The butterfly door was a fun find and especially during the “golden hour” with the interesting light. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. JT Twissel says:

    What a beautiful shot of the sunset! Thx for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was fun to capture. Thanks, Jan, for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    These are beautiful photos, Brenda. I love the butterfly door, and the sunset picture behind that statue is amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Dan, for the kind comments. It was fun to find the butterfly. I do love taking pictures during the “golden hour” of the day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. restlessjo says:

    Love the sunset photo, Brenda!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Jo! We happened to be at the right place at the right time. That’s always fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sheree says:

    Gorgeous shots

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Sheree! 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

  7. memadtwo says:

    I’m partial to arched doorways. I really like the way the large arch of the church encloses the 3 smaller arches below. And I would not mind a butterfly door at all! (K)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the doors. I also love arched doorways and butterflies.😊 I’m happy you stopped by!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Oddment says:

    A wonderful idea, to make the sunset part of the colors! Lovely images!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I do enjoy taking photos during the “golden hour” of the day. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  9. What a beautiful time of day for photos. The setting sun adds a bit of magic to the photos… breathtaking.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your kind comments! The “golden hour” of the day is my favorite time to take photos. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ann Coleman says:

    The butterfly doors are my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mine too! I’m so glad you stopped by, Ann. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment