Retirement

They promised better days for our golden years.  I stood with the others at the bank of the Seine River.  Travel pods floated toward us.  

Theo stepped up beside me.

“No! It’s not your time,” I argued.

“Your time is my time.”

The pod was roomier than I imagined, and the travel time shorter.  After landing with a slight thump, Theo and I left the pod and stood together in a soft green field under a radiant sky. Peacefulness washed over me, until an ear-piercing scream sent a shiver down my spine.  We ran for the cover of the trees.

~~

This story is a shorter version of a much longer story. (Whew, 100 words is tough – but fun.) It’s my contribution to “Friday Fictioneers,” a weekly challenge hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff Fields. With the help of a photo prompt to inspire, we’re to write a 100-word story.  The photo this week was provided by David Stewart.

If you would like to join in with this encouraging group of writers or read their stories from this week, visit here.

55 Comments Add yours

  1. neilmacdon says:

    Oh that’s hard to do it to people in their golden years. They can’t run very fast.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I guess that’s the point. It’s good they have each other…hopefully. Thanks for commenting, Neil!

      Like

  2. An excellent exerpt! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Susan. I’m glad you enjoyed! =)

      Like

  3. trentpmcd says:

    Shades of Soylent Green…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. In that vein for sure. Thanks so much, Trent, for commenting! =)

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m glad you found it so. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. jenne49 says:

    What a beautiful story of love, I was thinking. That line, ‘Your time is my time.’ Beautiful. But you’ve introduced so much more with the ‘promise’ for the golden years. Who are ‘they’? What kind of society is this? And then the tense twist at the end. And all of this in 100 words! A great piece of writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy you picked up and sacrifice of Theo to go with her. Thanks so much for your kind and encouraging comments. I’m smiling!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. pennygadd51 says:

    Excellent cliff-hanger, Brenda. I liked the love between the two characters; that’s true and authentic.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the relationship with her and Theo. I do like these characters and their relationship. I’m working on growing this story, so we’ll see. I need to finish the project I’ve been working on for so long, but then… Thanks so much, Penny, for your encouragement!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Iain Kelly says:

    Just as I thought it was heading for a happy ending! Anything that involves large parts of the population being carted off in travel pods is never going to end well – governments just aren’t that nice to their citizens.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Right? My thoughts exactly. Governments certainly are not that nice. Haha … I do have a difficult time with a happy ending. It’s the way my muse leads. I need to work on that. =) Thanks so much as always for commenting, Iain!!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Dear Brenda,

    That ending made my pulse race. I’m left wanting to know why and where they are. Good one.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Success!! Thanks so much for your encouraging comments, Rochelle, as always. =)

      Like

  8. And it was all going so well. I like an open-ender, well done Brenda!

    My story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They had hope, but … Thanks so much for commenting. I’m glad you enjoyed!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. plaridel says:

    methinks somebody got scared upon seeing them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, that’s possible. Caught someone or something off guard. =) Thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. GHLearner says:

    What a lovely, romantic deception for bloody murder of the old who aren’t valued any longer This is great, full of original ideas. I love it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m very glad you enjoyed the story! =)

      Like

  11. Dora says:

    So much for the “golden years”! Great story Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Not so golden after-all. Thanks so much, Dora!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Ann Coleman says:

    Well, that makes me want to know more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad!! Thank you for letting me know, Ann. I’m working on a longer version. Have a nice weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Tannille says:

    Time travel pods. I want one. Very pretty. That’s what the humans need in my story.

    Great take on the prompt B!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A travel pod would be nice. Thanks so much, T!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. draliman says:

    I’m guessing they left that out of the brochure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They certainly did! (haha) Thanks, Ali, for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Sandra says:

    Lots of potential for further development. A kind of geriatric Logan’s Run.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember that movie … a classic. I enjoyed writing it and it was much longer than the short version. I’ll add bits and see where it goes. Thanks so much, Sandra. =)

      Like

  16. Oh, yeah, there’s more to this story. Intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you found it intriguing. There is certainly more to this story. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. An enjoyable take on the prompt. Quite thrilling well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Mason. I’m really glad you enjoyed the story! =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome.

        Like

  18. So romantic and peaceful and until the scream. I wonder what it was….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for commenting! =)

      Like

  19. granonine says:

    I really want to know the rest of the story–I think!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha … we’ll see which way it goes as the story grows. Thanks so much for commenting, Linda! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  20. Laurie Bell says:

    Ooooooooo I guess retirement might be kinda short! A sacrifice perhaps. Scary end. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It could be short, we shall see. =) Thanks so much, Laurie!

      Like

  21. subroto says:

    I am sensing a retirement scam here. So many trusting people entering pods on the promise of retirement, nice one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, definitely a scam. Thanks much for commenting! =)

      Like

  22. Dale says:

    Oh dear… such calm and beauty and then they have to run? Not so tranquil a retirement as they’d hoped!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It certainly is not. Thanks, Dale, for reading and commenting! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  23. msjadeli says:

    Retirement, what a perfect title for this. I’m so glad he went with her, even if it wasn’t his time. Together they may be able to outwit the danger and enjoy their new home. Excellent story, Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the story, Lisa. I’m having fun with the characters. Though, their situation is dire, they have each other and … we’ll see where it goes. (haha) Take care!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msjadeli says:

        You’re very welcome, Brenda. Another enjoyable read.

        Liked by 1 person

  24. Nobbinmaug says:

    That adds a new level of terror to being sent out to pasture.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It certainly does. It’s difficult enough growing older. =) Thanks much for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  25. earthskyair says:

    I sense adventure and peril in the offing…..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. There is an adventure in the making. Thanks so much for reading and commenting! =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment