Warnings

The day began with her daughter’s screams.  The little girl writhed back and forth atop the stained mattress. 

“Why her?” Matilin asked the dark as she made her way to her daughter.  

The dreaded nightmares of a Seer should have been passed down to Matilin instead of Royanna.  For months, they had fled from one hiding place to another because of what her daughter had seen.  It was a curse, but also a blessing.  

Matilin held her daughter close until her shaking ceased.  Royanna’s eyes opened slowly.  Her expression was that of an ancient one. 

She whispered.  “They are coming.” 

I’m not sure how I got here from the interesting photo prompt this week. My muse and I did a dance and this is where I ended up.  The story is my contribution to “Friday Fictioneers,” a weekly challenge hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff Fields. With the help of a photo prompt to inspire, we’re to write a 100-word story.  The photo was provided by Ted Strutz.

If you would like to join in with this encouraging group of writers or read their stories from this week, visit here.

Thank you for stopping by! Stay safe, stay well.

47 Comments Add yours

  1. Tannille says:

    Wow. So much more to this story. It would be a great concept for a novel. I like where your muse took it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very glad you enjoyed the story. I do look forward to enlarging it. Thanks so much for your encouraging comments, T!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. James McEwan says:

    Haunting story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like that comment. Thanks so much, James. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra says:

    This is a really promising idea. Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comment made me smile. I’m so glad you enjoyed the story, Sandra. I look forward to growing it. =)

      Like

  4. neilmacdon says:

    Perfectly formed

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, that was a very encouraging comment, Neil. Thanks so much!

      Like

  5. Dear Brenda,

    Pretty far afield of the prompt. This is not a bad thing in my eyes. ;.) Would love to see where a longer story would go from here. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. Pretty far indeed. The characters are already growing in my mind and so too the story. Thanks so much, Rochelle. =)

      Like

  6. I always think the prompt is just that: something to prompt your writer brain into working. You’ve done a great job of following where your thoughts led, and I too think it sounds like the start of a great suspense novel.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I usually don’t go so far away, but the story was waiting to be told I suppose (haha). Thanks, Eugenia, for your encouraging comments. I look forward to seeing where the story takes me. =)

      Like

  7. Iain Kelly says:

    I would love to know the thought process that got you here from the prompt, something about moving houses! 🙂 A haunting story, expertly written.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It started out more modern day. Moving. Mother and daughter running. Add some fantasy. It was surprising but fun. Your last comment made me smile, Iain! =)

      Like

  8. GHLearner says:

    So many possible paths in your 100 words. I agree with the others, this would make a great longer story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your encouraging comments, Gabi. One-hundred words is truly a challenge and I look forward to expanding the story. =)

      Like

  9. Bit of a scary story here. I love the name Royanna too! NIce one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you found it so. =) Thanks so much, Mason!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome.

        Like

  10. Wow. I like the story. And as was said above, it doesn’t matter if it doesn’t appear to match the photo, it matters that you were prompted, and wrote! Maybe it’s that they were always on the move and that they both bore heavy loads.
    Stay on good terms with your muse! Maybe we’ll get more of this story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I like that interpretation. =) Thanks so much for your encouragement. I truly hope to write more on this one.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Nobbinmaug says:

    Well, your muse took us on a wild ride. You get points for originality. Great mysterious, ominous tone, Mason. Oops! I mean Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. I deserved that! =) My muse certainly took me into unexpected territory and maybe I’ll wander further down the path to see where the story leads. Thanks much for your kind comments.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Chilling. You’ve left us all wanting more Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy about that! Thanks much, Keith. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  13. michael1148humphris says:

    So many possibilities, come from this simple beginning. Nicely done Brenda

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We’ll see where it goes, Michael. Thanks so much! =)

      Like

  14. draliman says:

    Not the foreseeing someone on the run wants to hear 😮 Nice one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Certainly not!! Thanks so much, Ali. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Dora says:

    Brenda,
    I could see this happening, it’s so well written! I wonder who “THEY” are. The social media mob perhaps? Today, all too likely.
    ∼🕊Dora

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, that made me smile. Thank you for that encouragement, Dora. Hmm. Perhaps. I’m not sure yet who “they” are (haha).

      Liked by 1 person

  16. plaridel says:

    a curse and a blessing. hope daughter is strong enough to tame it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, let’s hope so. Thanks for commenting, Plaridel!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. pennygadd51 says:

    Well written, Brenda. You really drew me in with this little story.
    It’s a simple plot; mother hears daughter crying in the night and comforts her. But in the course of that, you outline a terrifying situation, provide some good sensory description, and give the reader two characters for whom we already feel sympathy. Excellent!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Reading your kind and encouraging comments was a very nice way to start my Saturday. My day began with a smile. Thanks you so much, Penny!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. jenne49 says:

    Oh my! There’s so much tension and mystery in this story. ‘Her expression was that of an ancient one.’ Wow! You’ve managed to include so much in so few words. And to send my imagination off on an adventure. I wonder if you’ll write any more to this? It’s great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am so happy to send your imagination out on an adventure, a lovely way to put it. I’m smiling still at your encouraging and wonderful comments, Jenne. Since writing it, and with encouraging comments like yours, I’ve been adding to the story bit by bit. We’ll see where Matilin and Royanna go from here. Thank you very much!! =)

      Like

  19. notestowomen says:

    Scary story, well written, Brenda. Curious minds want to know who “they” are.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I’m glad to make you wonder. =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. notestowomen says:

        You’re welcome 🙂

        Like

  20. msjadeli says:

    Brenda that one had icy fingers crawling up my spine. I feel bad for Royanna being so young, but if it skipped Matilan it’s good someone still has it. Sounds like they live in a situation where danger is everywhere 😦 Good luck to them. Good writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I like your first comment. Success! =) Thanks so much, Lisa.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msjadeli says:

        You’re very welcome, Brenda.

        Like

  21. Laurie Bell says:

    Wow! Fascinating tale. I want to know more

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you found it fascinating and want to know more. Thanks much, Laurie, for commenting and letting me know. =)

      Like

  22. granonine says:

    It isn’t nice to leave us hanging like that :). Really good writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. I have to admit to being glad the story piqued your curiosity. Thanks so much, Linda! =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment