Inside my Head

I live behind a veil, safe inside my head.  I try to disappear; shrink into the shadows, blend in with the walls.  When they notice me, I smile when they hurt me and agree when I don’t.  I silence their voices by listening to the one who lives with me inside my head.  She is kind and never shouts.  She takes my hand and leads me to the cozy house we built.  The walls are high, they cannot see.  We go inside and close the door.  Someday, I will be free.  Until that time, we will hide inside my head.

~~

This story is my contribution to “Friday Fictioneers,” a weekly writing challenge hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff Fields. With the help of a photo prompt to inspire, we’re to write a 100-word story.  This week, the intriguing photo was provided by Roger Bultot.

If you would like to join in and write your own story, or if you would like read the stories of others from this week, visit here.

Thank you for stopping by!

37 Comments Add yours

  1. James McEwan says:

    There’s hope in “Some day I will be free”.

    A deeply disturbing situation that you have put across with resigned emotion with your tone in the story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you heard her voice, James, Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments.

      Like

  2. neilmacdon says:

    I like how you used the curtain as a veil

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s all I saw. Thanks, Neil, for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  3. Iain Kelly says:

    Excellent use of the prompt Brenda, well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Iain, for your encouraging comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Fabulous interpretation of the photo Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the kind comment, Margaret! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great write, Brenda. I like the way your descriptions unfold what she’s thinking and feeling. There can be a contrast of thoughts going on even when they shouldn’t be. A good read … Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for you very kind comments, Isadora! I’m happy you enjoyed the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. The veil is an excellent take; well done, there.

    Troubling storyline with a ray of hope to one day be free.

    Excellent writing, Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your comments made me smile. Thanks so much! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Sandra says:

    A unique take on the prompt. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sandra, for your kind comment!

      Like

  8. athling2001 says:

    Disturbing but very well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dark and different. a great take, Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Keith, for the encouraging comment. 🙂

      Like

  10. Love how you used the curtain as a veil to the mind. Isn’t going into that cosy house also a kind of freedom? Very unique and insightful take on the prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s true, the house in her mind is a way of escape. Thanks so much for your kind and thoughtful comments. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  11. plaridel says:

    excellent writing. one of the best i’ve read from you. 

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Plaridel, for giving me a smile to start my day. Your comments are kind and very encouraging.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. msjadeli says:

    Brenda I like how you used the image as a metaphor. Trauma victims who are prisoners probably depend on this technique. Good writing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed, it is a coping mechanism, and one used by many of those I’ve worked with over the years. Thank you for your kind comments about the writing of the story. I appreciate it, Lisa!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msjadeli says:

        You’re very welcome and appreciate you sharing info on trauma.

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Laurie Bell says:

    Oh gosh, this is tremendously sad. She has found a way to mentally remove herself but at what cost. A beautiful use of the curtain but I’m left bereft and hope she will find true safety soon. A lovely piece.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Laurie, for stopping by and for your thoughtful comments. 

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Dear Brenda,

    Wonderful use of the prompt. How many are living inside their heads? Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I imagine quite a few. Thanks so much, Rochelle, for commenting!

      Like

  15. I wonder if she knows how lucky she is that the voice inside her head is kind?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a good point, Dawn. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  16. michael1148humphris says:

    I enjoyed this,

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very glad you enjoyed. Thanks for letting me know, Michael! 😁

      Like

  17. interesting take on the prompt; your writing draws us in to the inner workings of the characters mind and her struggles. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Jen says:

    This is really sad, but hopeful. I have just discovered “Friday Fictioneers” and it seems quite difficult to achieve a “complete” story in only 100 words. But you did that so well here!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Jen. It is quite a challenge but a lot of fun. Welcome to FF!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment