The Time of Darkness

Lilith gazed out at the reflections on the river cast by the brilliant lights from the city.  A disturbance caught her eye.  She squinted toward the river where a small rip in the water grew larger.  Shadows emerged from inside the tear.  They dipped and swirled above the waters, and the reflections blinked to darkness.  The shadows glided to where she sat on the bank.  Lilith dipped her head.  Some flew to the city.  Some flew to the sky.  One by one the lights of the city were consumed, and the moon dimmed.  The time of darkness was at hand.

~~

This story is my contribution to “Friday Fictioneers,” a weekly writing challenge hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff Fields. With the help of a photo prompt to inspire, we’re to write a 100-word story.  This week, this intriguing photo was provided by Sandra Crook.

If you would like to join in and write your own story, or if you would like read the stories of others from this week, visit here.

Thank you for stopping by!

41 Comments Add yours

  1. JT Twissel says:

    Oh my – inspired by the upcoming total eclipse?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm, good point. That must have been in the back of my mind. 🙂 Thanks for commenting, Jan!

      Like

  2. Dale says:

    Oh dear! This is most disconcerting. But well written!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is it weird that I’m glad you found it so (haha)? Thanks so much, Dale!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dale says:

        No, it’s wonderful! Especially if you are glad, that means I interpreted what you intended 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Tannille says:

    There is something mystical about this image. Love you take, B.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed. There is certainly something mystical about the photo. Thanks for stopping by, T!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. neilmacdon says:

    I loved the rip in the water and then the primordial darkness

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very glad that you enjoyed my dark story, Neil! 🙂

      Like

  5. GHLearner says:

    Oh, very dark, great story. Monster of darkness that destroy us, from within ourselves, or without…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Gabi, for reading and for your deep thoughtful comments!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Quite dark and apocalyptic, I love it. This is the kind of cosmic horror that I enjoy.

    -David

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like minds! 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed the story and thank you for letting me know, David.

      Like

  7. Very apocalyptic ….. or maybe these beings are already around us, ready to take over. Very well-written, Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The darkness is always around us. 🙂 Thanks so much for your kind comments.

      Like

  8. Margaret says:

    Nicely described. I love the slow, gradual emergence of the ‘shadows’. Chilling.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Margaret, for your encouraging comments about the writing of this story! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. What happened next I can’t begin to imagine! Delightfully dark.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Keith! I’m glad you found it delightful. 🙂

      Like

  10. Ann Coleman says:

    This sounds a bit scary! I think I’d like to know what’s coming….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was in the mood for scary this week. 🙂 We’ll wait and see. Thanks for commenting, Ann!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Laurie Bell says:

    Oh, here there be monsters! Love this with the shadows of darkness creeping out and then at her command zooming off… sounds like there will be hell to pay

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I knew you’d like the monsters, Laurie (haha). Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. plaridel says:

    it looks like a prelude to the end of days. it’s petrifying.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s what I was going for, Plaridel. Thanks so much for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. msjadeli says:

    If she survives, at least she can tell others where they came from. We are conditioned to look to the sky for ET invaders. Nobody suspects they come from below. Scary story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you found it scary. I was in that kind of mood this week. There are monsters all around us. 🙂 Thanks, Lisa, for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msjadeli says:

        You’re welcome!

        Like

  14. Who knows what lurks in the shadows.

    Ominous read … it felt sinister. I haven a clue as to why?!

    I hope it was your intention. I must admit, the eclipse comment above was another direction I felt in the story, Brenda. Good one …

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Lilith and the shadows know. 🙂 I’m glad you found the story to be sinister, as I intended it to be. Thanks so much for encouraging comments, Isadora.

      Liked by 1 person

  15. michael1148humphris says:

    Lilith got banished once before, she had better be careful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you spotted that, Michael. 🙂 She found a way to cause more destruction. Thanks so much for commenting!

      Like

  16. Angela says:

    Gave me a shiver, and the writing is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Angela, for the nice comment on the writing of the story! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Nobbinmaug says:

    That was dark. No pun intended. Wait… yeah… pun intended.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha. I’m glad you found it so. I was in a dark mood. Thanks for your faithful comments!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Dear Brenda,

    The time of darkness sounds ominous. The way you lead up to with the lights going out one by one is chilling. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Rochelle! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment