Thursday Doors: Goodbye Philippines

This post is my contribution to Thursday Doors, a group of door lovers hosted by Norm Frampton.  This week is my final mish-mash of random photos from Sorsogon, the Philippines. It was a wonderful trip.  I miss the beautiful scenery and the new friends that I made.

IMG_0525
Taken by Sarah Cox

One of our last stops on the trip was to visit the ruins of the Cagsawa Church in Albay. Mt. Mayon, the Philipines most active volcano watches from a distance.  It rumbles and spews fire and steam continuously.  An eruption in 1814 buried the town of Cagsawa.  The bell tower of Cagsawa Church was all that remained.

IMG_0529

Through this bamboo door, located near the Cagsawa ruins, lovely ladies make delicious mango smoothies. I love Philippine mangoes.

image_67169025

The last day before traveling back to Hong Kong, I met old and new friends through these doors for one last delicious meal with plenty of wonderful conversation and lots of laughter.

On the final full day in Gubat, Sorsogon, my daughter and I enjoyed the Buhatan River Eco-Adventure river-boat cruise along the (cleaned up) Buhatan River.  Floating beside banks covered in mangroves, we listened to the songs of kingfisher and watched heron swoop to catch their meal. After the sunset, sparkling lights from hundreds of fireflies danced amongst the trees.

image_6483441-3
Taken by Sarah Cox

I know … there are no doors in the last few shots, but I couldn’t help myself ending this post with photos of the amazing sunset.  Where the river meets the ocean!

Next week, my Thursday Doors post will include doors from closer to home here in Hong Kong.

For more doors from all around the globe visit Norm’s.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. Beautiful pictures and such a lovely place is Philippines

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind comment. The Philippines has many beautiful places. =)

      Like

      1. Welcome dear Brenda it sure does

        Liked by 1 person

  2. JT Twissel says:

    That sunset shot is amazing….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Jan! The shot was taken by my daughter. I love the idea of watching the sunset where the river meets the ocean. And it was a gorgeous show! =)

      Like

  3. Prior... says:

    Doors and more! Thanks for the culture rich share – and the blue sky with huge cloud is my top pic of this post

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad! The background was part clouds and part steam from Mt. Mayon which sputters every day. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    Great shots. The sunset pic is magical.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Norm. It was indeed magical!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Junieper2 says:

    Would be interesting to have a door made of bamboo, but it definitely has the looks of that! The river cruise must have been such an interesting and relaxing experience! Sigh, to all good things comes an end (but also to the bad, lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was enchanting especially on the way back after the sun had set. I can’t remember the last time I saw so many stars and so many lightning bugs. The flashes of light reminded me of my childhood when my brothers, sisters, and I chased and caught lightning bugs in our backyard. Have a lovely week! =)

      Like

      1. Junieper2 says:

        Don’t these kind of views in your memory? In summer we see the starts often -a gazillion, but no lightening bugs:)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ann Coleman says:

    What lovely photos! It looks as if you had a great trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Ann! I hope you had a lovely break. I’m on my over to your site to read your most recent post!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. TCast says:

    Beautiful Sorsogon. I am from the Philippines but I haven’t been there. Hopefully soon. Regards, Teresa

    Like

    1. Thank you for commenting, Teresa! Yes, you should try to visit. It is a beautiful location and the people are so friendly and easy-going. =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment