Thursday Doors: Yellow House

Something that brings me joy is joining in with friends at Thursday Doors (hosted by Norm Frampton), a lovely community of door-lovers.

~~

For the next little bit of time, I’ll be featuring doors I discovered “before” around the place I currently reside in Perpignan, southern France.

When I first moved to Perpignan in August 2019, I passed this beautifully bright building one day when my husband and I got lost looking for a possible apartment to rent. We finally found the apartment. It wasn’t the right one. But, I enjoyed capturing this building in the process.

In 1888, Vincent van Gogh rented rooms in a yellow house with green shutters in Arles (southern France), four hours from Perpignan. He painted the house and called it The Yellow House. He wrote to a friend, “It’s tremendous, these yellow houses in the sunlight and then the incomparable freshness of the blue.”

https://www.vangoghmuseum.nl/en/collection/s0032V1962

If you would like to see more doors from all around the globe, visit Norm’s.

Thank you for stopping by. I wish you joy!!

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan Antion says:

    The house is very pretty. I like the way you added the story and shared a little history with your photo. Those are the kind of things I enjoy most about Thursday Doors.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Dan. I remembered the Van Gogh painting but didn’t realize until recently that the house he painted was near here. It is fun!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. That’ll wake you up! Such cheerful colors. The colors of Provence are just lovely.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They certainly are. A bit of cheer especially in the sunshine. Thank you, Janet, for stopping by! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Teresa says:

    Bright lovely homes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They make me smile. Hope the yellow house made you smile too, Teresa! =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Teresa says:

        Oh yes they do, for sure!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. DrJunieper says:

    Sorry you struggle with what is happening around you. Of course, the rest of your family is also not int the best place… Ah, yes these yellow houses, that’s a great discovery you made with van Gogh’s yellow house. They remind me of a sun flower:) Thanks for giving me all the info.about houses in France, when I asked for it. It helped me to get into that mindset that I needed to be in. Still wish it would be France, but my guess is God has a different way for me. Have an enjoyable weekend! Jesh

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Jesh. I’m so glad the information helped a little in making your decision. I do love sunflowers! Take care! =)

      Like

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    The yellow and green are absolutely glowing in that light. It looks like you were there at the perfect time of day. I’m glad to hear that our little weekly gathering helps bring a few smiles into your day. It has been a difficult time for all of us the past months and with no end in sight, we do have to appreciate the good things and take joy where we can. Stay safe 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Norm, for your kind words. For the photo, I love it when the light is just right and the picture comes out the way you imagined. It’s often an accident with me (haha). Take care and have a wonderful weekend. =)

      Like

  6. Now, that’s a ray of sunshine for sure. Love the yellow buildings and the green doors.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s very true. The house is like a ray of sunshine! Hope you have a lovely weekend! =)

      Like

Leave a comment