The Good Old Days

Sharon laughed with her brother. “Remember our family trips to the ocean, Doug?  Crammed in the car, no seatbelts, snaking over the back seat to sleep in the tail end of the station wagon?”

Doug nodded.  “Yeah, I remember racing through our neighborhood on our Schwinn bikes, free as a bird without the hassle of helmets”

“My favorite was sneaking onto Mr. Grant’s frozen pond to skate,” Sharon added. 

“What about stick ball in the street?”

“Nighttime hide and seek!”

“Fourth of July,” Doug said laughing.  “Lawn darts and sparklers.”

“The good old days,” Sharon said.  “How did we survive?”

~~

The quirky snack shack in the photo (taken by Dale Rogerson) somehow reminded me of my hometown growing up.  My muse took it from there!  Thank you for stopping by and reading my contribution to “Friday Fictioneers,” a weekly challenge hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff Fields. With the help of a photo prompt to inspire, we’re to write a 100-word story.  

If you would like to join in with this encouraging group of writers or read their stories from this week, visit here.

46 Comments Add yours

  1. Tannille says:

    Different time. Sounds great, all that freedom. I often wonder how kids of today will speak of their childhoods.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I look back fondly on those growing-up days. The kids of today certainly do have a different kind of story, don’t they? Hopefully, they have fond memories too. Thanks for commenting, T! =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tannille says:

        Wrapped in cotton wool… 😀

        Like

  2. neilmacdon says:

    The past isn’t what it used to be

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sandra says:

    I’m glad I was born when I was. I’m not sure it’s quite so much fun growing up these days, tied and tethered with rules and social mores.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I am too, and I agree, growing up in the world today seems much more confining and complicated. Thanks so much for commenting, Sandra. =)

      Like

  4. GHLearner says:

    Some aspects of the past seem magical and great fun in hindsight. I’d still not want to repeat it. Great take.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Gabi. It’s true, there are moments I wish for a simpler “funner” time, especially as I get older, but we can’t go back and I don’t really want to. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great games, far better than mobile phones! Good story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, they were. Those along with swinging statues, freeze tag, jump rope, catching critters in the creek, and a lot of others fun things. Supremely better than mobile phones (haha). Thanks for commenting, Mason. =)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve always prefered being outdoors to on the computer.
        You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ann Coleman says:

    Sometimes I wonder the same thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha … especially knowing what we know now. But, we sure did have fun. Thanks for commenting, Ann. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Dora says:

    Yeah, how did we survive? And what happened to make us change? Your story raises all kinds of such questions, but I especially loved the trip down memory lane!
    pax,
    dora

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do wonder. My kids grew up differently as we were more aware of what could happen. Bike helmets. Seatbelts. I remember bouncing around in the back end of a pickup truck a few times as a young ‘un. And, we weren’t going slow. Not so smart. Oh well, I’m very glad you enjoyed a trip down memory lane, Dora! Thanks for reading and commenting. =)

      Like

  8. plaridel says:

    memories are made of these. well done. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Plaridel. The older I get the more I visit my memories. They can be a source of joy. Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Ah, nostalgia. Our society has indeed gone overboard with safety precautions, yet it’s still legal in most states to ride a motorcycle without a helmet. Go figure.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Balancing the two is a conundrum. We had a lot of freedom growing up, but, unfortunately, the world is not so safe anymore. I was more protective with my own kids. I’m certainly for motorcycle helmets and seatbelts. But, it’s true, I think we have gone overboard in some ways. Thanks for stopping by, Russell. =)

      Like

  10. James McEwan says:

    I think we survived through our own common sense and ability to have great fun by exploring our own abilities.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I like how you put that, James, and agree wholeheartedly! Thanks for reading and commenting. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  11. jenne49 says:

    I like where the muse took you, Brenda. Calling up memories that speak to so many of us. It certainly brought me right in and that’s what a good story does.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Jenne! Your comments on the story were very encouraging, and I’m so glad the story brought back good memories. =)

      Like

  12. Dale says:

    Sounds like the perfect childhood, Brenda – mine was very similar to that – except we never had a station wagon 😉 Love your take!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m glad yours was a happy childhood too, Dale! =) I hope you have a nice weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Dale says:

        It was.
        And you have a fabulous one as welll!

        Liked by 1 person

  13. We had fun back then, didn’t we? Reading this has brightened my day. Delightful Brenda.

    Here’s mine!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We certainly did. I’m very glad the story brightened your day!! Thanks so much, Keith, for letting me know.

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Nobbinmaug says:

    If I may quote Archie and Edith, “Those were the days.” For me, it was Wiffle Ball and tree forts. For today’s kids, they’ll remember cell phones and COVID.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, how sad, isn’t it? My brothers and I had so much fun making tree forts!! Good memories. Thank you for commenting and have a nice weekend. =)

      Liked by 1 person

  15. draliman says:

    Some of the things we did every day back then would shock both kids and parents today with their brazenness and risk levels 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my goodness, for sure! I can’t even imagine my kids doing what I did (a double standard I know). Thanks for stopping by, Ali! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Dear Brenda,

    Don’t forget drinking warm water from the garden hose. Catching fireflies until our parents called us home. Oh yes, keeping change for ice cream man. We did survive, didn’t we? And have great memories on top of it. Great story…lotsa memories.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Drinking water from the hose and jumping through the sprinklers. I loved catching fireflies and can almost hear the musical notes of the ice cream truck. (haha) Great memories for sure!

      Like

  17. msjadeli says:

    Brenda, I enjoyed walking with you down memory lane. Things were so different then less worries more freedom and fun.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was glad to have the company! =) I really was a fun time to grow up. Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msjadeli says:

        You’re very welcome 🙂

        Like

  18. pennygadd51 says:

    What a pleasant walk down Memory Lane. I would add sledging, climbing ridiculously high in trees, cycling for miles and miles. Do you know, I once had a classic accident as a child. I jumped from a tree branch, and my shorts snagged on a nail in the tree. I hung there thinking, “Oh, dear…” and then r-iiii-p, the fabric gave way and I fell to the ground – luckily the right way up!
    A very evocative piece of writing, Brenda.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A classic accident for sure. I’m very glad you landed right side up. Thank you for sharing the story, Penny. =) I did love sledding! Thank you so much for your encouraging comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Laurie Bell says:

    Certainly a different time! Unlocked homes, kids not coming home until after dark, no phones so no knowing where the kids were…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was. Neighbors doors not locked. My friends and I walked in and out of each other’s houses. I raised my kids differently as times had changed by then unfortunately. Thanks so much, Laurie, for stopping be! =)

      Like

  20. ahtdoucette says:

    LOL, lawn darts. It’s still hard to believe there was ever such a thing as lawn darts. Fun nostalgia story. I just looked it up and they still have lawn darts but not the spikey ones. Also yes to playing in the street.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad they don’t have the original darts anymore. Even back then, I find it crazy that we were allowed to play in the street (haha). Anyway, thank you for reading and commenting! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  21. granonine says:

    Ball games we organized ourselves, no adults necessary. Kick the can, Rover, Rover, send Linda right over! We had so much fun, with no parental interference. The rare fistfight was usually boys only, and after it was over they walked away with their arms around each other’s shoulders. Monkey bars, merry-go-rounds, teeter-totters. Those were the days!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sorry I missed this. It’s been a weird couple of weeks. I loved kickball and ‘Rover, rover, send someone over.’ We certainly were creative and very self sufficient as kids, coming up with so many entertaining past times. Thank you for commenting, Linda!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment