Thursday Doors: La Sagrada Família, Barcelona

The following photos are my contribution to Thursday Doors, a door-lovers group hosted by Norm Frampton.

~~

On the last day of a weekend trip to Barcelona this past February, my daughter and I visited the famous Basílica de la Sagrada Família.  This grand structure was designed by architect Antoni Gaudí. Construction of the church began in 1882. When Gaudí died in 1926, only a quarter of it was completed.  The target time for completion is 2026.  La Sagrada Familia is like no other cathedral I’ve ever seen before.

I hope you enjoy…

Screen Shot 2020-06-26 at 17.36.41
Photos taken by Sarah Cox

Screen Shot 2020-06-26 at 17.37.11

To see more photos from Barcelona, Spain, visit Thursday Doors: Barcelona & Thursday Doors: The Streets of Barcelona.

If you would like to see more doors from all around the globe, visit Norm’s.

Thank you for stopping by.  Stay safe, stay well!

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Prior... says:

    oh Brenda – that grand structure has doors and more – 🙂

    Like

    1. It sure does. Thanks for stopping by, Yvette! =)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    Great shots. I’ve seen and read a fair bit about this place and yet I find it still almost impossible to fathom the scale and duration of this amazing project.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Norm! It is indeed grand and majestic. I’d like to someday go back and spend more time looking around. Post-pandemic.

      Like

  3. Teresa says:

    Beautiful shots of an amazing cathedral. My plan is to go there again when it finishes in 2017, but I wonder if it has been delayed again due to covid.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Teresa! That’s a good point. I did read an article recently that the pandemic will delay it’s completion, possibly by a year or two.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Teresa says:

        Oh no, I will be too old by then 🙄

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Incredible architecture here Brenda. Beautiful!

    Like

    1. It truly was incredible to see! =)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment