Flowers on the Windowsill

Alejandro said, “I will return.  Leave flowers on your windowsill.” 

Sofia danced to the florist where her childhood friend stood behind the counter.  “Hola, Matteo!  I need a rose.  He said he will return!”

Matteo nodded.  “But, if he doesn’t…” 

A year dragged by. “Matteo, the roses die too quickly.  I’ll buy flowering plants instead. He will return.”

Fondly, Matteo said, “If he doesn’t…”

Years passed.  Buying a pot of succulents, Sofia sighed, “Matteo, these won’t die before he returns.”

“If he doesn’t…” Matteo began.  Sofia’s eyes filled.  Her arthritic hands gripped the pot.  He hesitated.  “…I will be here.”

~~

This story is my contribution to “Friday Fictioneers,” a weekly challenge hosted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff Fields. With the help of a photo prompt to inspire, we’re to write a 100-word story.  This week, Rochelle used one of my photos.  How fun!

If you would like to join in and write your own story, or if you would like read the stories of others from this week, visit here.

Thank you for stopping by. Stay safe, stay well!

45 Comments Add yours

  1. Agustana says:

    I absolutely LOVED this! Great pacing and you got me right in the feels.
    BTW, your photo was my first Friday Fictioneer submission, so thank you for sharing it 😁.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you enjoyed the story! Thanks for your kind comments. They were a nice way to start my day. Welcome to FF!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful story so full of emotion.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for letting me know, Shelley! Hope you have a wonderful weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. neilmacdon says:

    A perfectly crafted story. Call and refrain. In threes. With a change in the third.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Your encouraging comments are a perfect way to start my day. Thanks so much, Neil. I’m smiling!

      Like

  4. Iain Kelly says:

    Wonderfully done, although I want to give Mateo a shake! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! You and me both. Thanks so much for your kind comment, Iain!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. JT Twissel says:

    Very sweet! Like a song.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a very nice comment! I’m so glad you enjoyed. Hope you have a nice weekend!

      Like

  6. msjadeli says:

    Awwwww this one got me in the feels. Her tender heart yet waits. Surely something happened to Alejandro or he would have returned by now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love your comments! Yes, I, too, imagine Alejandro was unfortunately detained and couldn’t even get a message to her. Have a nice weekend, Lisa!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. msjadeli says:

        I enjoy your stories, Brenda. You also 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Ann Coleman says:

    This was so good! Sad, but sweet….and said a whole lot in with very few words!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Ann, for your lovely comments. I’m very happy you enjoyed the story. I hope you have a wonderful weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Nobbinmaug says:

    Poor Mateo (¿Matteo?). It’s an all too common tale, the chain of unrequited love. Well told.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unfortunately, that is true. Poor Mateo indeed. Thanks so much for visiting and have a nice weekend. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Bill says:

    Story or parable? Nicely done, Brenda. We don’t know why Alejandro did not return, but we do know that Mateo may have blown it. But then, perhaps Sofia was too obsessed to ever move on. So many ways this story could have gone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a mystery. As Sofia’s longtime friend, Mateo knew her well so your observation is correct that she was locked onto one idea. But…we often lose out when we delay too long. Thanks so much for your thoughtful comments, Bill! I’m glad the story sparked your imagination. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. pennygadd51 says:

    Lovely story. Using Sofia’s arthritic hands to tell us that Mateo’s love for her was lifelong is very clever! And I liked the way you made Sofia’s subjective time vary as she got older. Really nice metaphor.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for your very kind comments, Penny!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. plaridel says:

    i suppose true love can wait if you know what i mean.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for commenting, Plaridel! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Margaret says:

    Oh Mateo! Why weren’t you more assertive? I hope Sofia grabs him. Forget about Alejandro. Gorgeous story. I love the repeated sections and lines.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m very happy you enjoyed the story, Margaret. Thanks so much for letting me know!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. draliman says:

    Well, Mateo got there in the end 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. He did. Hopefully, she realise he’s been there all along. Thanks so much for commenting, Ali!

      Like

  14. Tannille says:

    Wow, this is sad. You’d think there would be a point in life where they move on. Psychology is a fascinating thing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It certainly is and often our brains and behaviour don’t make much sense when viewed by others. Thanks so much, T, for stopping by. 🙂

      Like

  15. Dear Brenda,

    With “arthritic hands” you deftly told us how many years had passed. Tender story. I wonder what would’ve happened if Mateo had declared his love sooner. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. As he fears, she might have turned him down. Thank you, Rochelle, for your encouraging comments!

      Like

  16. Well written tale. Like many others, I wonder why Mateo didn’t express his love earlier, but–better late than never. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Very true, better late than never! Even now, though, I don’t know that she’s ready to let go of the hope she holds on to. Thanks so much, Russell, for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      Like

  17. A wonderful story of hope, Brenda. It matters not what someone else may think, if you belive than you have hope. Beautifully unfolding and leaving us with a gasp of sorrow for her. Have a wonderful Sunday … Isadora 😎

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you did as well, Isadora! I’m very glad you enjoyed the story. Hope is truly the key. Take care!

      Liked by 1 person

  18. James McEwan says:

    There is nothing more enduring than faith and love. We don’t know what has happened to Alejandro, either way I am left emotionally sad.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed, we don’t know what happened to Alejandro, but I’m sorry to leave you sad. Thank you so much for commenting, James.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. ahtdoucette says:

    Aw.. It’s never too late, Mateo! Never too late. Such a heart-warming tale.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed, never too late, Anne. I’m glad you found the story to be heart-warming! 🙂

      Like

  20. Laurie Bell says:

    Oh Mateo…
    I loved this, Brenda. Beautifully done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this story. I know…poor Mateo. Thanks so much for your nice comments, Laurie!

      Like

  21. Such a poignant story, with a subtly used refrain. A good story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much. I’m glad you enjoyed! 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment